









FIVE STAR MAZDA CHAMPIONS AMONG MANY SERIES ALUMNI COMPETING IN THIS WEEKEND'S 48TH ANNUAL ROLEX 24 AT DAYTONA



Daytona, FL -- Continuing his climb up the motorsports ladder, Dane Cameron – winner of the 2007 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear -- moves up from a season in the 2009 Grand-Am GT class driving the Racers Edge Mazda RX-8 to co-drive the #2 Beyer Racing/uberwürx Crawford Prototype with Jared Beyer in this weekend's Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Cameron is one of five Star Mazda Champions, along with a number of Series alumni, competing in this weekend's 48th annual Rolex 24 at Daytona. The list includes 2008 series champion John Edwards (#30 Racers Edge RX-8 GT / below right), 2005 series champion Raphael Matos (#59 Brumos Racing DP), 2002 winner Guy Cosmo and 1999 champion Joey Hand (#94 Turner Motorsport GT). Also in the field are Colin Braun (#75 Krohn Racing DP), Brian Frisselle and Mark Patterson (#6 Michael Shank Racing DP) and John Pew (#60 Michael Shank Racing DP).

After winning the 2008 Star Mazda Championship, John Edwards moved up via the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder and won the Atlantic championship in 2009; he is now on track to move up to Indy Cars with the Newman-Wachs Racing team after his Rolex 24 drive with Racers Edge this weekend.

2007 champion Dane Cameron also moved up to Atlantic via the MAZDASPEED Ladder for the 2008 season, and from there graduated to a full season in the Grand-Am GT class with Racers Edge Motorsports. His drive in this weekend's Rolex 24 is his second experience at the wheel of a Daytona prototype; he shared a Finlay Motorsports car with Michael Valiante



in the 2007 Grand-Am season-ender at Miller Motorsports Park. 2005 Star Mazda champion Matos went on to win the Atlantic and Indy Lights championships in 2007 and 2008 before moving up to compete full-time in the Indy Racing league. Colin Braun became one of the youngest Daytona Prototype drivers in Grand-Am history and is currently making a name for himself in NASCAR. Cosmo has raced in both Grand-Am and the American Le Mans Series and he, Frisselle, Patterson and Pew are all regular top-level prototype and sports car drivers.

Practice for the Rolex 24 begins at 10 a.m. Thursday, with qualifying to set for 4:15 p.m. and night practice at 6:30. The 48th annual Rolex 24 at Daytona is scheduled to take the green flag at 3:30 p.m. ET Saturday. Live SPEED coverage begins at 3 p.m. and runs through 10 p.m., and resumed Sunday from 7 a.m. - 4 p.m. Complete coverage of the Rolex 24 - including live timing and scoring, race notes, quotes and event photos - will be available at www.grand-am.com. For additional coverage, visit the GRAND-AM Road Racing page on Facebook or www.twitter.com/RolexSeries.

About Star Mazda

The Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear is now entering its 20th year as one of the most successful and cost-effective open-wheel driver development series in North America. The format and rules are designed to highlight talent rather than big budgets, and to provide more racing-per-dollar than any other open-wheel series.

The Star Mazda Championship is a major rung on the *MAZDASPEED* Motorsports Driver Development Ladder, the only automaker-supported program providing funded rides for champions in various series from karting to the top levels of the sport. It is also part of the Indy Racing League's official 'Road to Indy' program that also includes the Cooper Tires Presents USF2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda and Firestone Indy Lights.

The Star Mazda Championship takes on a more prominent and influential role in the training and career development of young open-wheel racers with an 11-weekend, 13-race 2010 schedule that includes events on American Le Mans Series and Indy Racing League weekends as well as the high-profile "Night Before the 500."

Star Mazda race cars are high-tech, carbon-fiber race cars that have been upgraded with enhanced suspension, aerodynamics and engines; the ultra-reliable Mazda 'Renesis' rotary engine produces 260 horsepower, 0 to 60 acceleration in 2.8 seconds and a top speed of 160 mph. Unrestricted testing promotes rapid development of a driver's on-track, car setup and



driver/engineer communications skills, and the 'single-spec' engineering of Star Mazda Championship race cars showcases driving talent over big budgets.

Star Mazda Championship races, all 45 minutes long, include road courses, street circuits and both long and short ovals. F1-style standing starts (on road circuits), large fields and wheel-to-wheel racing create additional excitement. Countries

represented on the grid in 2009 included the U.S., Canada, England, Ireland, Norway, Brazil, Venezuela, Chile, Argentina and Japan.

Drivers in the series are mostly young racers moving up from karting, Skip Barber, Formula BMW and FF2000 and various European series. But some are more mature racers in whom the competitive fire still burns brightly; they compete in the Expert Series (driver 30 to 44 years old) and Master Series (drivers 45 and older).

Total prizes, with money paid down through 15th-place in the championship, are valued at \$1.5 million. The series champion not only gets a sponsorship to race in next year's Atlantic Championship Powered by Mazda series, but also a cash award of \$100,000. The series' 'Rookie of the Year' award is worth \$10,000 and contingency awards from participating suppliers such as Goodyear, Quartermaster Clutches, BBS Wheels, VP Fuels, Performance Friction Brakes and Staubli dry break systems, boost the total to \$1.5 million. New for 2010, drivers are also competing for the VISIT FLORIDA Cup, with the winner receiving a personalized Florida dream vacation from Visit Florida, to official tourism marketing corporation for the State of Florida.

The experience, education and media exposure that drivers, teams and sponsors receive as a result of participating in the Star Mazda Championship will advance both career and corporate goals and provide a gateway into many forms of motorsports. Graduates of the Star Mazda Championship include:

<u>Indy Car</u>	<u>NASCAR</u>	Grand-Am
Graham Rahal Marco Andretti Raphael Matos Indy Lights James Davison James Hinchcliffe Pablo Donoso Michael Potekhen Daniel Herrington	Scott Speed Michael McDowell Colin Braun Brad Coleman Moses Smith ALMS Joey Hand Chris McMurry Guy Cosmo	Dane Cameron Jeff Bucknum Dan DiLeo Mark Wilkins Brian Frisselle Doug Peterson Tom Nastasi John Pew Mark Patterson
Formula 2 Natasha Gachnang	Bryan Sellers Tom Sutherland Tom Gladdis	

For more information on the Star Mazda Championship and its drivers, as well as the Mazda Motorsports ladder system, please visit www.mazdausa.com. For information, interviews and photos, contact Star Mazda Communications Director Peter Frey at (818) 398-5733 or StarMazdaPR@aol.com.

On any given weekend, there are more Mazdas on the road-race tracks of America than any other brand of vehicle. At the track, you'll see MX-5 Miata, RX-8, MAZDA3, MAZDA6, RX-7 and other vintage Mazda models competing, because every Mazda has the Soul of a Sports Car.

For more information on the various Mazda spec series, visit:

<u>www.atlantic-championship.com</u> <u>www.usf2000.com</u>

<u>www.skipbarber.com</u> <u>www.mx-5cup.com</u>

Dean Case / Communications Officer / MAZDASPEED Motorsports

(310) 318-4582 / E-mail: MAZDASPEED@MazdaUSA.com

